Executive Committee

DGHI is overseen by an Executive Committee composed of 15-20 faculty members appointed by the Chancellor and Provost for a two-year term, renewable twice. The Committee represents the major units of the university participating in the Institute’s work, including two students representing the Student Council.

Responsibilities of the Executive Committee include:

  • Participating in setting the Institute’s strategies and priorities
  • Advising on new programs and faculty recruiting
  • Monitoring the Institute’s progress
  • Serving as advocates and ambassadors of the Institute with their respective Schools
  • Reviewing Institutional Partners of the Institute
Name School or Departmentsort descending
Richard Powell Dean of Humanities, Arts & Sciences
Angela O'Rand Dean of Social Sciences, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Giovanni Zanalda Director, Duke Center for International Studies (DUCIS) & International Areas
Mark McClellan Director, Margolis Center
Lesley Curtis Duke Clinical Research Institute
David Bell Franklin Humanities Institute
Susan Alberts Global Priorities Committee
Suzanne Shanahan Kenan Institute
Laurence Helfer Law School
Erika Weinthal Nicholas School of the Environment
Ashutosh Chilkoti Pratt School of Engineering
Marvin Swartz Psychiatry
Donald Taylor Sanford School of Public Policy
Judith Kelley Sanford School of Public Policy
Ebony Boulware School of Medicine
Michael Relf School of Nursing
Brittney Sullivan Student Council - graduate representative
Lily Zerihun Student Council - undergraduate representative
Raphael Valdivia Vice Dean for Basic Science, School of Medicine
Theodore Pappas Vice Dean for Medical Affairs
Larry Carin Vice Provost for Research