Executive Committee

DGHI is overseen by an Executive Committee composed of 15-20 faculty members appointed by the Chancellor and Provost for a two-year term, renewable twice. The Committee represents the major units of the university participating in the Institute’s work, including two students representing the Student Council.

Responsibilities of the Executive Committee include:

  • Participating in setting the Institute’s strategies and priorities
  • Advising on new programs and faculty recruiting
  • Monitoring the Institute’s progress
  • Serving as advocates and ambassadors of the Institute with their respective Schools
  • Reviewing Institutional Partners of the Institute
Namesort ascending School or Department
Theodore Pappas Vice Dean for Medical Affairs
Suzanne Shanahan Kenan Institute
Susan Alberts Global Priorities Committee
Richard Powell Dean of Humanities, Arts & Sciences
Raphael Valdivia Vice Dean for Basic Science, School of Medicine
Michael Relf School of Nursing
Marvin Swartz Psychiatry
Mark McClellan Director, Margolis Center
Lily Zerihun Student Council - undergraduate representative
Lesley Curtis Duke Clinical Research Institute
Laurence Helfer Law School
Larry Carin Vice Provost for Research
Judith Kelley Sanford School of Public Policy
Giovanni Zanalda Director, Duke Center for International Studies (DUCIS) & International Areas
Erika Weinthal Nicholas School of the Environment
Ebony Boulware School of Medicine
Donald Taylor Sanford School of Public Policy
David Bell Franklin Humanities Institute
Brittney Sullivan Student Council - graduate representative
Ashutosh Chilkoti Pratt School of Engineering
Angela O'Rand Dean of Social Sciences, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences